PS4 Music Streaming Through Spotify Goes Live

Spotify app arrives today on PlayStation 4 and PlayStation 3; could come to Xbox later.

No Caption Provided

Music streaming service Spotify on Monday released its first-ever console app, launching a dedicated experience exclusively (at least for the time being) for PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, and Xperia mobile devices. "PlayStation Music" is the name of the Spotify-PlayStation app, replacing Music Unlimited.

No Caption Provided

Users can stream more than 30 million songs and 1.5 billion playlists across devices. On PS4, users will be able to stream Spotify music while playing games, though this feature was not announced for PS3.

A special "Spotify Connect" feature is also now available through the Android/iOS Spotify app, allowing PS3 and PS4 users to control the music that gets played on their console remotely.

Sony did not say if PlayStation Music will be available on PlayStation Vita.

Spotify is currently available as a free, ad-supported streaming service on desktop and mobile. The company also offers a $10/month subscription that kills ads, allows offline play, and more.

PlayStation rival Xbox has its own music-streaming service, Xbox Music.

People who had a Music Unlimited account active as of March 29, 2015 can receive two free months of Spotify Premium. Meanwhile, new users can try Spotify Premium for one month at no cost.

No Caption Provided

Sony also teased that the arrival of Spotify today on PlayStation consoles is "just the beginning" for PlayStation Music. The service will "continue to evolve" with "exciting new features."

Will Spotify ever come to Xbox or other gaming consoles? That's still to be decided.

Eurogamer asked Sony marketing director Murray Pannell how long PlayStation will have exclusivity for Spotify on consoles. He responded, "That's to be decided exactly, but certainly for the foreseeable."

Are you going to try out Spotify on your PlayStation console? Let us know in the comments below!

The PlayStation Music launch markets are: Andorra, Austria, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey, UK, and USA.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 70 comments about this story