PS4 Amplitude Release Date, Price, and Full Soundtrack Revealed

But no word yet on when the PS3 edition will arrive.


After being delayed multiple times, Rock Band developer Harmonix's Amplitude game now has a new release date. The reboot of the PlayStation 2 cult classic will arrive on PlayStation 4 on January 5. You'll be able to buy the game digitally through the PlayStation Store on that date for $20.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

People who backed the Amplitude Kickstarter campaign at $40 or above will get to play two weeks earlier, starting on December 23, Sony said in a PlayStation Blog post today.

The game is also coming to PlayStation 3, though a release date for that version was not announced.

Amplitude was originally slated to launch in March 2015. However, it was later delayed to summer and then again to its late December/early 2016 release date. The latest delay was the result of Harmonix deciding to increase the game's scope, adding things like online leaderboards, two new environments, and new game modes.

These include campaign, solo freeplay, free-for-all (for 2-4 players), and team play (1v3 or 2v2) modes. The game's soundtrack also rose from 16 songs to 30, the full list of which has now been announced and is available below.

Amplitude Song List:

  • "All The Time" — C418
  • "Assault on Psychofortress" — Single White Infidel
  • "Astrosight" — Inter:sect Ft. Noelle LeBlanc & Naoko Takamoto
  • "Break for Me" — James Landino Ft. Noelle LeBlanc
  • "Concept"— Symbion Project
  • "Crazy Ride" — Insomniac Games
  • "Crypteque (1-2)" — Danny Baranowsky
  • "Crystal" — George & Jonathan
  • "Dalatecht" — Harmonix
  • "Decode Me" — Inter:sect Ft. Noelle LeBlanc & Naoko Takamoto
  • "Digital Paralysis" — Harmonix
  • "Do Not Retreat" — Komputer Kontroller
  • "Dreamer" — Harmonix
  • "Energize" — Harmonix
  • "Entomophobia" — M-Cue
  • "Force Quit" — Jim Guthrie
  • "Human Love" — Harmonix
  • "I.C.U." — Harmonix
  • "Impossible" — Darren Korb
  • "Lights" — Wolfgun
  • "Magpie" — Harmonix
  • "Muze (Amplitude Remix)" — Ingrid Lukas, Remix by Patrik Zosso and Nik Bärtsch
  • "Perfect Brain" — Harmonix
  • "Phantoms" — Freezepop
  • "Recession" — Jeff Allen Ft. Noelle LeBlanc & Naoko Takamoto
  • "Red Giant" — Kodomo
  • "Supraspatial" — Jeff Allen Ft. Naoko Takamoto
  • "Synthesized" — Symbion Project
  • "Unfinished Business" — Shiohito Taki & Junichi Kamiunten
  • "Wayfarer" — Harmonix
  • "Wetware" — Harmonix

Amplitude will be playable at PlayStation Experience this coming weekend; 112 other games will be, too.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 12 comments about this story
12 Comments  RefreshSorted By 
GameSpot has a zero tolerance policy when it comes to toxic conduct in comments. Any abusive, racist, sexist, threatening, bullying, vulgar, and otherwise objectionable behavior will result in moderation and/or account termination. Please keep your discussion civil.

Avatar image for pointingmonkey

The only person I know out of that soundtrack is Noelle LeBlanc, and sadly she seems to have flown under the radar for the past 12 years she's been releasing music.

If there is any Iron Maiden fans on here, I recommend giving her cover of "Wasted Years" with her former band Damone (You can find it on YouTube) a go. It's a completely unique take on the song, that works incredibly well.

Avatar image for slupian

I loved the first one and want this one but where are all the real songs? I loved how the original had known artists with videos and all. This one sounds like it has songs from games only

Avatar image for bigbadcrawford

I have never heard of any of the artists listed

Avatar image for BruceWayneJr

I still own the original Amplitude and Frequency, but I definitely won't pass this new one up if it's 20 bucks.

Avatar image for kee1haul

Will this sell 10k copies too?

Avatar image for dominoodle

@kee1haul: It had 14k backers on Kickstarter and made $844k, or roughly $60 per backer.

I think there are plenty of people interested.

Avatar image for ibonedyourmom

@kee1haul: By the looks of that song list , probably not even. And isn't Amplitude basically just Rock Band/Guitar Hero without the instruments? Which begs the question why the f would anyone buy it, now that Rock band and Guitar Hero exist.

Avatar image for dominoodle

@ibonedyourmom: That's like saying "why play those Hatsune Miku games when you can play Rock Band?".

People like different kinds of games.

Avatar image for BruceWayneJr

@ibonedyourmom: Maybe because some folks prefer this to playing fake instruments. It's about the rhythm, not pretending to be a musician.

Avatar image for bioswat

With Uncharted 4 it's already not best year for X1 lol

Avatar image for bobafetthatesu

@bioswat: I wouldn't consider Aplitude anything to brag about in regards to systems wars.