Pokemon Go Available in 11 New Countries and Regions

China and South Korea are not among them, however.


Pokemon Go continues its worldwide rollout, having recently launched in 11 new countries and markets, developer Niantic has confirmed.

On September 29, the free-to-play game was released in Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macau, Macedonia, and Serbia. A day later, Niantic released the game in Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, and Mongolia. In all regions, the game is available from iTunes and Google Play.

No Caption Provided

Pokemon Go saw its record-setting release in the US and Europe in July. According to Apple, the game was downloaded more times in its first week than any other app in history.

The game launched in Japan later in July. At the time, Niantic thanked fans in the country for their patience. According to a previous report, Niantic Labs was holding back Pokemon Go's Japanese release until it was confident the servers would hold up.

Pokemon Go is available in most major markets worldwide, with the exception of China and South Korea. The Pokemon Company CEO Tsunekazu Ishihara said he hopes to launch the game in those regions, but acknowledged that could be a problem since they limit Google Maps.

In other news about Pokemon Go, a recent report claimed the game continues to bring in $2 million every day from its microtransactions, which is down from a reported peak of $16 million every day.

Niantic recently added a new "buddy" system to Pokemon Go, while the developer has also teased some "exciting features and changes." A multiplayer battle mode could be one of the new features.

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story