Play Code Vein Very Soon; PS4 And Xbox One Network Test Starts This Week

Starts in May and continues into June.

4 Comments

The dates for the upcoming Xbox One and PS4 Network Test for Code Vein have been announced. As previously speculated, the test begins in May. In fact, it's starting next week.

For the US, Code Vein's Network Test begins May 30 at 8:00 PM PT / 11:00 PM ET and continues until June 3 at 12:00 AM PT / 3:00 AM ET. In Europe, the test starts May 31 at 4:00 AM BST / 5:00 AM CEST and ends June 3 at 8:00 AM BST / 9:00 AM CEST. Though Code Vein is releasing on Xbox One, PS4, and PC, the Network Test will only be live on consoles. To participate in the Code Vein Network Test, sign-up on Bandai Namco's website. You'll receive your Xbox One or PS4 code on May 29, allowing you to preload the demo before the test goes live.

In the Network Test, you'll be able to play through the opening chapter of Code Vein and try the game's multiplayer. In Code Vein, you usually travel throughout the world with an NPC companion. If you want, you can also team up with one other human-controlled character for a three-person party. Though Code Vein takes inspiration from Dark Souls--both thematically and mechanically--Bandai Namco's game does not feature invasions. Multiplayer in Code Vein is entirely supportive.

We played through Code Vein's opening chapter during a preview event and had the chance to try the game's revamped Blood Code system. After delaying the game in July 2018, Bandai Namco changed how Code Vein's build system works. Now, thanks to Code Vein's eight unique Blood Codes, you can quickly respec your vampiric character with new stats and abilities in seconds whenever you want. Most of the eight Blood Codes are too melee-focused, but a few do provide interesting abilities, such as a teleporting backstab called Phantom Assault.

Code Vein is a perfect example of how Dark Souls has had a lasting impact on the gaming industry. In our The Most Influential Games Of The 21st Century series, Tamoor Hussain wrote, "Dark Souls' impact on gaming is undeniable. Such is its influence that the term Souls-like has become a genre in and of itself. But describing a game as 'Souls-like' can mean so many things, from challenging gameplay to emergent storytelling, or even a distinct sense of place. The fact that the term can be used in such a diverse way to explain facets of action games, RPGs, puzzle games, or even text adventures is the strongest indication of just how important the game was and is to this day."

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: First 45 Minutes Of Code Vein: Dungeon And Boss Battle

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 4 comments about this story