Nominees for 2016 Independent Games Festival Awards Revealed

Which games should win?


The finalists for the 2016 Independent Games Festival (IGF) awards have been announced, with Her Story, Superhot, and Undertale nominated for the Seumas McNally Grand Prize.

No Caption Provided

This year's 18th Annual IGF Awards will be hosted by Capybara Games (Super Time Force, Below) co-founder and president Nathan Vella. The awards show takes place as part of the Game Developers Conference on Wednesday, March 16, at the Moscone Convention Center in San Francisco.

The Game Developers Choice Awards will also take place that evening, though finalists have not yet been announced.

Last year's IGF Grand Prize winner was Outer Wilds. Mojang's Minecraft won the top prize in 2011.

In addition to recognition, there is $50,000 in prizes up for grabs, including $30,000 that goes to the Grand Prize winner. The awards show will be streamed live on Twitch and we'll have all the winners for you as they're announced.

The complete lineup of categories and nominees for the 2016 IGF awards, including honorable mentions, are printed below. The list and links were assembled by the event organizers.

Excellence in Visual Art

Honorable Mentions: Forkride Grilltime Sloth (Black Pants Game Studio [Sebastian Stamm]); Epistory - Typing Chronicles (Fishing Cactus); Kingdom (noio & Licorice); Alto's Adventure (Snowman); Future Unfolding (Spaces of Play); Astroneer (System Era Softworks)

Excellence in Narrative

Honorable Mentions: Oxenfree (Night School Studio); Orion Trail (Schell Games); Cibele (Star Maid Games); Contradiction (Tim Follin / Baggy Cat Ltd); The Writer Will Do Something (Tom Bissell and Matthew S. Burns)

Excellence in Design

Honorable Mentions: Gang Beasts (Boneloaf); Imbroglio (Michael Brough); Duskers (Misfits Attic); Chaos Reborn (Snapshot Games); TIS-100 (Zachtronics); Soft Body (Zeke Virant)

Excellence in Audio

Honorable Mentions: Heart Forth, Alicia (Alonso Martin); The Beginner's Guide (Everything Unlimited Ltd.); Gnog (KO_OP); Oxenfree(Night School Studio); Kingdom (noio & Licorice); Inside My Radio (Seaven Studio)

Nuovo Award

Honorable Mentions: Enough (cabbibo); Sentree (Glitchnap); Affordable Space Adventures (KnapNok Games and Nifflas' Games);Vignettes (Pol Clarissou, Armel Gibson); Future Unfolding (Spaces of Play); Sage Solitaire (Zach Gage); TIS-100 (Zachtronics)

Best Student Game

Honorable Mentions: Anarcute (Anarteam); Gathering Sky (A Stranger Gravity); Not Everything is Flammable (DAM: David Shiyang Liu, Alex Hu and Mac Lotze); FAR (Mr. Whale's Game Service); Sumer (Studio Wumpus); Bad Blood (Winnie Song)

Seumas McNally Grand Prize

Honorable Mentions: The Beginner's Guide (Everything Unlimited Ltd.); Panoramical (Fernando Ramallo & David Kanaga); Affordable Space Adventures (KnapNok Games and Nifflas' Games); Twelve Minutes (Luis Antonio); Oxenfree (Night School Studio); That Dragon, Cancer (Numinous Games); Cibele (Star Maid Games); Soft Body (Zeke Virant)

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

The products discussed here were independently chosen by our editors. GameSpot may get a share of the revenue if you buy anything featured on our site.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 8 comments about this story