No Fallout 4 at The Game Awards, Bethesda Says

Publisher's marketing executive claims the company is "not showing anything."

115 Comments
No Caption Provided

This Friday's inaugural The Game Awards 2014 promises at least a dozen "world premieres," but don't expect Fallout 4 or The Elder Scrolls 6 to be among them. Bethesda marketing executive Pete Hines wrote on Twitter on Wednesday that he's attending the Las Vegas show, but only to support the latest Wolfenstein.

MachineGames is the developer behind Wolfenstein: The New Order, which has been nominated for a handful of awards at the show, including Best Shooter and Best Narrative.

Bethesda does have a history of announcing new projects at year-end award shows, as the company did just that in 2010 when it caught everyone by surprise by revealing The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim during the Video Game Awards.

While new Fallout and Elder Scrolls games have not been announced, they are more than likely in development. After all, the evidence for a Boston-set Fallout 4 is mounting, while Skyrim's 20 million copies sold near-enough guarantees a sequel.

The Game Awards 2014 begin December 5 at 6 PM Pacific / 9 PM Eastern / 2 AM UK. GameSpot will bring you all the news from the show, as well as a list of winners, as soon as they're announced.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 115 comments about this story