Nintendo World Championships Set To Air On CBS This Month

You can catch it at the end of the month.

2 Comments

If you missed the Nintendo World Championships that streamed ahead of E3 2019, then you're in luck. CBS has partnered with television show ELeague to bring the championship series directly to your TV screen later this month.

The Nintendo World Championship series, which streamed on June 8, will air on Sunday, August 25 at 10 AM PT / 12 PM CST / 1 PM ET / 6 PM BST. Two more episodes of the series will broadcast a couple weeks later on September 7 at 11 AM PT / 1 PM CST / 2 PM ET / 7 PM BST and September 14 at 10:30 AM PT / 12:30 PM CST / 1:30 PM ET / 6:30 PM BST.

This year's Nintendo World Championships was comprised of three tentpole Nintendo Switch games: Splatoon 2, Super Mario Maker 2, and Super Smash Bros. Ultimate. Each game consisted of set matches and rules where players compete to be crowned the champion. The full, nearly seven-hour livestream can be viewed on Nintendo's official YouTube channel.

All three titles have received some fairly recent updates. Not long after Dragon Quest's Hero DLC release, Super Smash Bros. Ultimate saw a new patch that significantly changed many of the game's fighters. Super Mario Maker 2's previous 32-level upload limit has been doubled, allowing you to share upwards of 64 levels online instead. Though Splatoon 2 won't get anymore Splatfest's for the foreseeable future, the game's new update introduced a Splatfest option to private battles.

Bringing this year's Nintendo World Championship series to TV isn't the first partnership between CBS and ELeague. The two worked together on a three-part Super Smash. Bros Ultimate Invitational 2018 series, which aired in the same year.

Disclosure: CBS is the parent company of GameSpot.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Super Smash Bros Ultimate - 8 Tips To Dominate

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 2 comments about this story