Nintendo to announce Wii U price, release date tomorrow

Mario maker confirms it will share core launch information for upcoming console during presentation in Japan; same info likely for North American, European events.

Comments

Nintendo will officially announce the price and release date for the Wii U tomorrow during a presentation in Japan, the Mario maker has confirmed. Company president Satoru Iwata will reveal the console launch details during a Japanese Nintendo Direct event scheduled for 4 p.m. in Japan (midnight PDT, 3 a.m. EDT, 8 a.m. BST).

Nintendo fans will want to tune in tomorrow.
Nintendo fans will want to tune in tomorrow.

North American and European launch details are expected later in the day, beginning with a New York City event hosted by Nintendo of America president Reggie Fils-Aime at 10 a.m. EDT. A European Nintendo Direct is scheduled for the same time.

GameSpot and sister site Giant Bomb will be in attendance at the Wii U media event Thursday. News stories and analysis will hit the site as the event proceeds.

  •   View Comments (0)
    Join the conversation
    There are no comments about this story