GameSpot may receive revenue from affiliate and advertising partnerships for sharing this content and from purchases through links.

Nintendo Switch Online Service Is Live Now

Switch 6.0 update ushers in a new era.


Nintendo Switch Online, the first paid online service from the company, is now available for purchase through the Nintendo Switch Eshop. Signing up for the service grants you access to online play, cloud saves, and a selection of NES classics.

To sign up, first you'll have download and install the 6.0 system update. Then you can go into the Eshop and find the new Switch Online tab. That will show the various subscription periods along with the seven-day free trial. If you decide to pay for a subscription, it's priced at $4 for one month, $8 for three months, or $20 for 12 months. A 12-month family subscription is also available for $35. If you don't want to pay out of pocket, you can use My Nintendo points.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Playing NES Classic Games On The Nintendo Switch

The service enables online play for games like Mario Tennis Aces, Splatoon 2, and Mario Kart 8 Deluxe. It also enables cloud saves, and gives you access to the Nintendo Switch Online app for voice chat functionality. You'll also be able to download the "Nintendo Entertainment System - Nintendo Switch Online" application, which houses 20 NES games with more on the way throughout the rest of the year. Finally, you'll get access to special offers like exclusive Splatoon 2 gear.

It has some gaps and exceptions, however. Cloud saves won't be offered for all games, and NES online games are only playable offline for a week without checking in. For more details on the Switch Online service, check out our wrap-up of everything we know.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 4 comments about this story