Nintendo Switch Online Servers Going Down For Maintenance Tonight

"Some network services" may be down for a brief period later today.

Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Bayonetta 1 And 2 for Nintendo Switch Trailer - The Game Awards 2017

If you're planning on playing a Nintendo Switch game online later today, you may find your session interrupted for a brief period of time. Nintendo will be performing maintenance on Switch servers tonight, February 14, which may affect your ability to use the console's online services.

Tonight's round of maintenance is quite brief compared to last month's, which spanned a few hours over the course of several days. The maintenance begins at 6 PM PT / 9 PM ET (2 AM GMT on February 15) and will last approximately an hour, ending at 7 PM PT / 10 PM ET / 3 AM GMT. Nintendo says that "some network services may become unavailable" during this window of time.

As usual, the company didn't specify which games or services in particular will be affected by tonight's maintenance, but it's safe to assume that it includes online titles like Splatoon 2 and Arms. You can see Nintendo's brief notes about tonight's maintenance on its support website.

Splatoon 2 in particular has been receiving a regular stream of updates and new content since the online shooter first released for Switch last July. Earlier this month, Nintendo expanded its map selection with another classic level from the first Splatoon, Arowana Mall. Another entirely new map, a basketball stadium called Goby Arena, is also slated to arrive to the game soon. Meanwhile, the next Splatoon 2 Splatfest begins on February 16 and asks players to choose between love or money.

The next big game on the way to Switch is Bayonetta 2, which arrives (alongside the original Bayonetta) on February 16. You can read more about the title in GameSpot's Bayonetta 2 review and our review roundup.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story