New Nintendo 3DS Release Date Leaked, And It's Soon - Report

Poster reveals the new Nintendo handheld will launch February 13 in North America.

167 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

What appears to be an image of a promotional poster that appeared on NeoGAF today reveals that Nintendo's New 3DS XL will launch in North America on February 13, 2015. The portable, which was first announced in August 2014, went on sale in Japan and Australia late last year.

No Caption Provided

The New Nintendo 3DS (yes, that's really the name), includes a long list of new features, including an analog nub, additional ZL and ZR shoulder buttons, improved 3D, integrated NFC support for Amiibo, a faster CPU, and replaceable cover plates.

For lots more on the New Nintendo 3DS, check out the video above.

Today's New Nintendo 3DS release date rumor comes less than a day before Nintendo is scheduled to hold its latest Nintendo Direct video briefing. In announcing the event last night, Nintendo said the focus of the event would be spring 2015 Wii U and 3DS games, though of course this doesn't rule out discussion of other topics, likely potentially the New Nintendo 3DS launch date.

Tomorrow's Nintendo Direct kicks off at 6 AM Pacific / 9 AM Eastern / 2 PM UK. We'll post the livestream info tomorrow, and we'll have all the news for you as it's announced.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 167 comments about this story