New Far Cry Game Set For The Game Awards Reveal

Want to play with a sawblade gun?

Tap To Unmute

Register / Sign in to save autoplay settings forever across all devices!

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Far Cry Reveal Teased For Game Awards - GS News Update

Ubisoft has teased an impending Far Cry announcement for The Game Awards with a short video that hints at a post-apocalyptic theme. Though the brief look doesn't explicitly say the announcement is connected with Far Cry 5 or that it's explicitly Far Cry 6, the setting of this new game or expansion appears similar to be similar to the latest game in the series. Spoilers for Far Cry 5 follow.

The teaser begins with a nuclear explosion over a track of farm land, echoing the ending of Far Cry 5 when the cult leader Joseph Seed was proven right after all. His prophecy came true and the world--or at least a sizable chunk of rural Montana--was obliterated by nukes. The connection suggests this game will follow the events of Far Cry 5.

The teaser says the world recovered and vegetation regrew, and the survivors thought the threat had passed. But, in an ominous twist, the narration says they were wrong, as we see a figure picking up a sawblade for an apparent makeshift weapon. This would appear to be a post-apocalyptic Far Cry, complete with scrappy survivors.

The brief video doesn't indicate much about whether this will be downloadable content for Far Cry 5, a new standalone spin-off like Blood Dragon, or an entirely new game. Far Cry 5 already had a full season pass of content, complete with zombies, outer space, and Vietnam.

We'll know more tomorrow when the full reveal airs live during The Game Awards. It all kicks off starting at 8:30 PM ET / 5:30 PM PT / 1:30 AM GMT (Friday) / 12:30 PM AET (Friday), and you can watch it right here at GameSpot. While some studios are teasing reveals for The Game Awards, others have stepped forward to say they won't be showing their games. You can follow along with our roundup of all the Game Awards news and announcements.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 36 comments about this story
Loading More Images