New $60 Destiny Package Features All DLC, Including Rise of Iron

People who preorder can start playing everything (except Rise of Iron) right away.


Activision today announced Destiny: The Collection, a new version of the shooter that comes with all previously released content, as well as the new expansion, Rise of Iron.

It's being released on September 20 for PlayStation 4 and Xbox One, but not last-gen systems, which is no surprise given that Rise of Iron is not coming to PlayStation 3 or Xbox 360. The $60 package also comes with a single character boost that players can use to rise through the ranks and join friends who may be further along in the game.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Destiny - The Collection Trailer

People who preorder The Collection digitally can play the base game, as well as expansions The Dark Below, House of Wolves, and The Taken King, right away, while they wait for Rise of Iron. Physical and digital preorders of Rise of Iron also come with the black and silver Iron Gjallahorn weapon, while digital preorders get you the Iron Gjallarwing Sparrow vehicle. Some physical retailers will also offer this preorder bonus.

In a news release, Activision VP Byron Beede said The Collection is a "perfect starting point" for people who have not yet played Destiny.

For players who have already started playing Destiny on a last-gen system, referred to by Bungie as a "legacy" console, they can upgrade to The Collection for $40, but only until January 31, 2017. This discounted upgrade is only offered digitally and if you own The Taken King. Your character will thankfully move forward with you, but you cannot switch platform families.

You can learn more about Destiny: The Collection and the upgrade offer here.

Starting August 16, the PS3 and Xbox 360 versions of Destiny will no longer receive major Destiny updates or new content releases. While Destiny is staying online for PS3 and Xbox 360, there are some significant-sounding changes on the way to the gameplay experience.

First, players will no longer be able to buy the Silver currency, though people with Silver still in their accounts can use it to buy more items. Additionally, Trials of Osiris and Iron Banner will no longer be available, while "live events" such as some specific playlists, quests, bounties, and rewards, are going away after August.

You can read this post to learn more about how Destiny is changing on last-gen systems.

Bungie has already talked a lot about what's included with the Rise of Iron expansion, but even more details are coming tomorrow, August 16, during a livestream broadcast. Check back with GameSpot tomorrow to learn more.

Destiny 2 is also in the works and is scheduled to launch in 2017. No details about it have been announced at this point, though some supposed images from it have emerged online.

The products discussed here were independently chosen by our editors. GameSpot may get a share of the revenue if you buy anything featured on our site.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 53 comments about this story