Monster Hunter: World Beta Starts Tomorrow On PS4, PS Plus Not Required

All PS4 owners get access to this beta.

31 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: GS News Update: Second Monster Hunter: World Beta Releases Soon On PS4, PS Plus Not Required


Related
Monster Hunter: World
Follow

Following a beta earlier this month, Capcom will soon allow PlayStation 4 owners to sample the upcoming Monster Hunter: World once again. This time around, it's dumping the PlayStation Plus requirement of the first beta test, allowing everyone on PS4 to give the game a try.

World's second beta kicks off on December 22 at 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET / 5 PM GMT (4 AM AET on December 23). It will run for a total of four days, ending at the same times on December 26 (or December 27, for those in some time zones). Although PS Plus is not required to download it, you'll presumably still need a subscription if you hope to try out the game's online multiplayer mode, although that is unconfirmed.

Capcom did not say if there would be any new content available in this second beta. Those who participated in the first test will be able to use the same client they already downloaded, so hopefully you haven't deleted it yet. Pre-loading for newcomers has already begun, giving you time to get it downloaded before the beta begins.

Unfortunately, there's still been no word about a beta for Xbox One players. The same is also true for PC, although that comes as less of a surprise given that version doesn't have a release date and won't launch at the same time as the console versions.

World launches for PS4 and Xbox One on January 26; you can read all about it in our Monster Hunter World review. The PS4 version will boast some exclusive freebies in the form of crossover content themed around Horizon Zero Dawn. All versions of the game will also get free Mega Man-themed content and new monsters as free post-launch DLC.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

  •   View Comments (31)
    Join the conversation
    There are 31 comments about this story