Madden 21's First X-Factor Abilities Revealed For Star Quarterbacks

EA announces the new X-Factor abilities for quarterbacks, including Lamar Jackson, Patrick Mahomes, Tom Brady, and more.


Madden NFL 21 brings back the X-Factor abilities from last year's game and introduces more than 50 new ones. EA Sports has begun to announce these, starting with quarterbacks. The list includes several of the best in the league, including the ageless wonder Tom Brady and Patrick Mahomes. You'll want to get these guys on your team.

Six quarterbacks have X-Factor abilities in Madden NFL 21, including cover star Lamar Jackson, Patrick Mahomes, Tom Brady, Drew Brees, Russell Wilson, and Aaron Rodgers. Jackson's X-Factor ability is called "Truzz" and it makes him immune to fumbles, while Mahomes has an ability called "Bazooka" that increases his maximum throwing distance.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: EA Sports Montage | EA Play 2020

Rodgers has one called "Gambler" that prevents AI defenders from intercepting him, while Wilson's is called "Blitz Radar" and it lets him see pass-rushers. Brady and Brees, meanwhile, have the "Pro Reads" ability that shows them the first open receiver and makes them throw faster. You can see all of these new X-Factor abilities below.

More X-Factor abilities for other players and positions will be announced throughout the week.

Madden NFL 21 X-Factor Abilities For QBs

  • Patrick Mahomes: Bazooka – Max throwing distance increased by 15+ yards
  • Lamar Jackson: Truzz - Immune to fumbles when he's in the zone
  • Tom Brady: Pro Reads - Highlights the first open target and speeds up throws
  • Drew Brees: Pro Reads - Highlights the first open target and speeds up throws
  • Russell Wilson: Blitz Radar - Highlights extra blitzers
  • Aaron Rodgers: Gambler - Can't be intercepted by AI defenders

In other news, EA Sports has confirmed that it's making a last-minute change to Madden NFL 21 to remove the Washington Redskins after the real-world sports team dropped the name that was widely criticized for being racist. The game will be updated with a generic Washington team and logo until the actual sports group decides on and announces a new name.

Madden NFL 21 is coming on August 28 for PC, PS4, and Xbox One. It will also be coming to the next-gen PS5 and Xbox Series X, with free upgrades for current-gen owners through EA's Dual Entitlement program. For more details, check out our Madden NFL 21 pre-order guide.

The products discussed here were independently chosen by our editors. GameSpot may get a share of the revenue if you buy anything featured on our site.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 1 comments about this story