Kingdom Hearts 3 Patch Notes: Critical Mode, More Photo Slots, And More

The new difficulty comes alongside various quality-of-life fixes.

1 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Kingdom Hearts 3 Critical Mode Gets Release Date - GS News Update

As reported yesterday, a new update introduces a new difficulty mode to Kingdom Hearts III. The update, a set of two patches, will also implement a host of quality-of-life additions to enhance the game's playability. They will be available later today.

Patch 1.04 will see Critical Mode--a new, higher difficulty setting--make its way to the game. In a tweet, director Tetsuya Nomura teased adjustments to the mode, saying, "We've changed things up from the previous games, so I hope you enjoy."

The second patch, 1.05, will add 100 more photo slots--upping the total to 200--and introduce item carryover (such as Keyblades) to New Game+. Both patches will implement various fixes, but there are no specific details about what these fixes are.

Additionally, certain enemies have had changes made to their behavior, but again, no specifics were mentioned. Additionally, when at the Moogle Shop, you'll be able to see which Synthesis items you've already synthesized; these will be designated by a checkmark.

The full patch notes were published by Square Enix in Japanese. You can see a translation courtesy of Kingdom Hearts Insider.

According to the official Kingdom Hearts Twitter account, at least one of the patches will be released today at 7 PM PT / 10 PM ET (3 AM BST on April 24).

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 1 comments about this story