How To Watch The Horizon: Forbidden West PlayStation State Of Play Happening Now

The Forbidden West gameplay reveal is coming up this Thursday.

Comments

Sony is featuring one of its biggest upcoming PlayStation games, Horizon: Forbidden West, during its State of Play today, May 27. The showcase comes ahead of E3, Ubisoft Forward, and Summer Game Fest in June. If you need to get caught up before you watch it, we also have some details you'll want to know. There will be a very extensive look at new gameplay. [Update: The stream is now over, and it delivered a lengthy Horizon Forbidden West gameplay video, but no release date.]

How To Watch

The event begins with a pre-show that starts at 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET, before the main show itself begins five hours later after at 2 PM PT / 5 PM ET. You can watch the event live on Twitch or YouTube, and it's embedded below so you can tune in right here on GameSpot when it begins. Typically, Sony's pre-shows feature some announcements, though it isn't clear if everything will be related to Horizon. As of right now, only some landscapes are appearing in the pre-show footage, along with distant wildlife. Presumably, these will be playable areas in the game.

Pre-Show

  • 9 AM PT
  • 12 PM ET
  • 5 PM BST
  • 6 PM CEST
  • 2 AM AEST (May 28)

Horizon Forbidden West Gameplay Reveal

  • 2 PM PT
  • 5 PM ET
  • 10 PM BST
  • 11 PM CEST
  • 7 AM AEST (May 28)

What To Expect

The event promises 14 minutes of new gameplay footage for Forbidden West, which is due out this year. According to a post on the PlayStation Blog, the event will deliver new footage of Aloy in the sequel, and the gameplay that you'll see was captured on PlayStation 5. That's notable because Forbidden West will also be playable on PS4.

The entire segment is 20 minutes long, so it seems there will be about six minutes of presumably commentary from the developers, though we don't know for sure. It could also feature some footage we've seen before.

"This reveal has been a true team effort and we're very excited to show you what we have in store," game director Mathijs de Jonge said. "Whether you've been with us and Aloy since Horizon Zero Dawn or are only just getting to know this incredible world, we want to share this huge milestone with you and cannot wait to see your favorite moments and reactions."

Horizon: Zero Dawn released in February 2017, with an expansion called The Frozen Wilds debuting in November of that year. Sony expanded the game even more in August 2020 when the company released it on PC.

Forbidden West takes protagonist Aloy to the western coast of post-apocalyptic America, where she will face new threats and make new allies. The Guerrilla-developed sequel is one of the last Sony exclusives announced that will be on both PS5 and PS4.

Forbidden West is apparently scheduled to release in 2021, but Sony has yet to announce a specific release date.

Watch live streams, videos, and more from GameSpot’s summer event. Check it out

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story