Here's The Star Wars: Rise Of Skywalker Footage That Debuted Inside Fortnite

Risky Reels recently aired a new Star Wars Episode 9 scene.

2 Comments

New footage from the much-anticipated movie Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker will premiere inside of the battle royale game Fortnite later this week. Epic Games has announced that director JJ Abrams will showcase new footage of the sci-fi blockbuster at the in-game outdoor theatre Risky Reels on Saturday, December 14. The Episode IX footage will debut at 11 AM PT / 2 PM ET, and you'll need to log in to the game itself to be among the first to get a look at it. [Update: You can watch the scene above and check out our Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker review for a spoiler-free look at what to expect.]

As for what to expect, Disney is promising an "exclusive scene" from The Rise of Skywalker, but there are no further details available at this time. Epic added that Risky Reels opens its doors at 10:30 AM PT / 1:30 PM ET, so players can head in early to get a good seat.

Star Wars Episode 9 reveal in Fortnite teaser
Star Wars Episode 9 reveal in Fortnite teaser

This confirmation comes after players discovered posters for the Rise of Skywalker reveal in Fortnite at various locations across the map. The new Rise of Skywalker footage will undoubtedly get posted to YouTube very quickly, so you don't necessarily need to play Fortnite to check out the new movie content.

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker - Fortnite December 14 Event Start Time

  • 11 AM PT
  • 2 PM ET
  • 7 PM GMT
  • 6 AM AET (December 15)

This is not the first partnership between Fortnite and Star Wars. In November, a massive Imperial starship appeared in the sky, and a Stormtrooper skin also came to the game.

Abrams is working with Epic Games on a new video game called Spyjinx. Epic has said very little about the project, but the company says it is still in the works.

Abrams also recently signed a $250 million deal to make new video games, TV shows, and movies for Warner Bros.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Fortnite Event - Star Wars Exclusive Scene And Massive Lightsaber Battle Gameplay

$22.00 on Walmart
Buy

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 2 comments about this story