Here's Exactly When Overwatch Launches

Overwatch servers go online at the same time around the world next week.

69 Comments

Blizzard has revealed when servers will go online for Overwatch next week, and it's perhaps a bit earlier than you may have expected.

As with the open beta, the servers are scheduled to go up at the same time around the world: 12 AM BST on Tuesday, May 24, which translates to 4 PM PDT / 7 PM EDT on Monday, May 23. A full schedule follows at the bottom of this post.

No Caption Provided

We already knew physical copies would be available for purchase on Monday in order to ensure players could be ready for launch on Tuesday. But with this being a simultaneous global launch, that means those in the Western Hemisphere can start playing on Monday.

Instructions for how to install the game ahead of time are detailed on Blizzard's blog. It's all pretty standard fare, though if you purchase a physical PC version, you'll still need to download the Battle.net desktop app. You'll then install the game through there after redeeming your key on the Battle.net website. Or, if you still have the game installed from the beta, the app will simply download an update once it's ready.

Blizzard says Overwatch should be available for preloading on PC by tomorrow, May 20. You can already preload on Xbox One, but there's no mention about the PS4 version.

If you played the beta, you'll already be familiar with everything coming at launch. Blizzard has plans to add a competitive mode that was cut, as well as other, as-of-yet unannounced content.

Overwatch launch schedule:

The Americas:

  • 4:00 PM PDT on May 23
  • 5:00 PM MDT on May 23
  • 6:00 PM CDT on May 23
  • 7:00 PM EDT on May 23
  • 8:00 PM ADT on May 23
  • 8:00 PM BRT on May 23
  • 8:30 PM NDT on May 23
  • 7:00 AM SGT on May 24
  • 9:00 AM AEST on May 24
  • 1:00 AM NZST on May 24

Europe:

  • 12:00 AM BST on May 24
  • 1:00 AM CEST on May 24
  • 2:00 AM MSK on May 24

Asia:

  • 7:00 AM CST on May 24
  • 8:00 AM KST on May 24
  • 8:00 AM JST on May 24

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 69 comments about this story