Half-Life Fan Remake Site Countdown Teases Reveal Next Week

We'll likely be hearing more from the Black Mesa project soon.

71 Comments

The fan-created Half-Life remake Black Mesa may finally be approaching its release, if a new countdown website is any indication.

The official Black Mesa website is now home to a mysterious video feed that, when clicked, redirects visitors to another site. This site is comprised of nothing but a static-laden countdown showing SMPTE color bars and--occasionally--the face of Half-Life's G-Man.

No Caption Provided

There's no official word on what this hard-to-read countdown is leading to. The source code reveals it will hit zero on May 5 at 8:47 AM UTC-6 (that's 7:47 PT, or 10:47 ET), but it's anyone's guess as to what we'll find out then.

Presumably, we'll be hearing details regarding the next release of Black Mesa. The fan-run project is a remastered version of the original Half-Life built using the Source engine with improved graphics, new voice acting, and a fantastic soundtrack. It's been in the works in various forms for more than a decade.

In 2012, we finally got to play a significant chunk of the final product (everything up to the Xen section). A year later, it became one of the first games to be approved on Steam Greenlight, meaning it will eventually be sold through Steam. A free version will also continue to be available alongside the one available for purchase.

We'll be keeping an eye on the countdown site as we approach Tuesday. Stay tuned for more.

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 71 comments about this story