Gwent: The Witcher Card Game's PS4 Beta Starts This Week

Play the new Witcher game (sort of) this weekend.

24 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: GS News Update - Gwent: The Witcher Card Game's PS4 Beta Starts This Week

If you enjoyed Gwent in The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt, this weekend might be a good one, as spinoff title Gwent: The Witcher Card Game is getting a free technical beta on PlayStation 4, starting Friday, March 31.

The beta, which is a 3 GB download, will last the duration of the weekend, from 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 6 PM BST on March 31 through to 11 PM PT on April 2 (2 AM ET / 7 AM BST on April 3). You'll be able to build your own deck and try out the tutorial before testing your skills against other players in online casual matches, according to developer CD Projekt Red.

The company says the purpose of the beta is nothing to do with balance tweaks, but to assess server capacity on PS4: "the game is already fun," reads an official Q&A. It is also stated in the blog post that users will not need PS Plus to participate in the beta, while microtransactions are disabled until the release of the full game.

Gwent's standalone game previously had beta tests on Xbox One and PC, for which CD Projekt Red said it wanted players to "kill" the game's servers.

Gwent was first announced at E3, where we learned it's more like The Witcher 3 than you might expect. For more on the standalone card game, check out our video feature on why we're excited for it.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 24 comments about this story