Guitar Hero Live Release Date, 20 More Songs, and Pricing Confirmed

Activision's music game franchise returns in October, two weeks after Rock Band 4.


Guitar Hero Live will launch on October 20, Activision announced this week during E3. That's a couple of weeks after Rock Band 4, which we learned earlier this week will debut on October 6.

Avenged Sevenfold
Avenged Sevenfold

That wasn't the only announcement Activision made this week, as the publisher also confirmed 20 new songs (see below) and announced a special preorder bonus focused around metal band Avenged Sevenfold.

Everyone who preorders Guitar Hero Live will gain access to an Avenged Sevenfold "Premium Show" for the game's online mode, Guitar Hero TV. This show will be available in the game October 20-November 2.

Activision also has confirmed pricing for Guitar Hero Live's various bundles. A package that comes with the game and one guitar will cost $100. You can also buy a bundle featuring the game and two guitars for $150.

Guitar Hero Live is not backwards compatible with existing instruments.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

New Guitar Hero Live Songs:

  • “The Lazy Song" — Bruno Mars
  • “American Idiot" — Green Day
  • “Lust for Life" — Iggy Pop
  • “Before He Cheats -- Carrie Underwood
  • “Thunder Kiss '65" — White Zombie
  • “Under Cover of Darkness" — The Strokes
  • “Are You Gonna Be My Girl?" — Jet
  • “Freak on a Leash" — Korn
  • “Thunder on the Mountain" — Bob Dylan
  • “Higher Ground" — Red Hot Chili Peppers
  • “Pedestrian at Best" — Courtney Barnett
  • “Bulls on Parade" — Rage Against the Machine
  • “Feels So Close" — Calvin Harris
  • “Come With Me Now “ — KONGOS
  • “Rimbaud Eyes" — Dum Dum Girls
  • “I Gotsta Get Paid" — ZZ Top
  • “Another is Waiting" — The Avett Brothers
  • “Breaking the Law" — Judas Priest
  • “Asleep at the Wheel" — Band of Skulls
  • “Best Day of My Life" — American Authors
  • “What Doesn’t Kill You" — Jake Bugg
  • “Sounds Like Balloons" — Biffy Clyro

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 16 comments about this story