GTAV stars 'East Coast gangster' - Report

ShortList magazine reveals Rockstar's upcoming open-world game features protagonist who moved to Los Santos for a fresh start; full reveal at 9 a.m. PDT.

69 Comments

Grand Theft Auto V's protagonist will be a gangster from the East Coast. That's according to the latest issue of ShortList magazine (via CVG), which suggests this character decided to move to the game's fictional Los Santos setting for a fresh start.

No Caption Provided

"But, as in The Godfather III - just as he thought he was out, they pulled him back in," the magazine goes on.

A similar theme ran through the debut trailer for GTAV. In this trailer, an unseen protagonist states, "I wanted to retire from what I was doing, you know? From that…that line of work. Be a good guy for once. A family man."

Additionally, the GameStop-owned Game Informer magazine has confirmed that its full GTAV reveal will occur today at 9 a.m. PDT / 11 a.m. CDT / 12 noon EDT.

Rockstar Games last week confirmed that GTAV will ship for the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 during spring 2013. Preorders for the game opened this week at select retailers in the United States and Europe. The game's second trailer will arrive November 14.

For more on GTAV, check out GameSpot's previous coverage.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 69 comments about this story