GDC 2002: IGF Grand Prize goes to Bad Milk

The Independent Games Festival announces the recipients of its fourth annual awards event. Playable demo of the Grand Prize-winning game inside.


The fourth annual Independent Games Festival (IGF) awards were presented last night at the 2002 Game Developers Conference (GDC) in San Jose, California. The awards show was started in 1998 to encourage and reward innovation in independent games and to give independent game developers a forum to exhibit their work and help find commercial publishers. Bad Milk, DreamingMedia's hallucinatory live-action video puzzle game, received the $15,000 Seumas McNally Grand Prize. The full list of award recipients is posted below.

"The 2002 IGF honorees exemplify the 'outside the box' thinking that keeps innovation at the forefront of video game development," said Alex Dunne, chairman of the IGF. "Each year the festival judging becomes more difficult as indie developers continue to create and submit games that push the envelope."

The IGF award winners:

Seumas McNally Grand Prize
Bad Milk by DreamingMedia

Innovation in Game Design
Insaniquarium by Flying Bear Entertainment

Innovation in Visual Arts
Banja Taiyo by Team cHmAn

Innovation in Audio
Bad Milk by DreamingMedia

Technical Excellence
Ace of Angels by Flying Rock Enterprises

Audience Award
Kung Fu Chess by Shizmoo

For more information about the IGF and the award winners, visit the official IGF Web site and download the playable demo for Bad Milk linked below.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story