Gamescom 2021 Opening Night Live: How To Watch All The Announcements

Here's how to watch the Opening Night Live stream, where we'll see Far Cry 6, Death Stranding, Call of Duty: Vanguard, and more.

5 Comments

Gamescom Opening Night Live 2021 is nearly set to start, officially taking place today, August 25, at 11 AM PT / 2 PM ET. Organizer Geoff Keighley will host the event, and he has teased nearly 40 world premiere announcements throughout the event and its pre-show. It's the second major opportunity for game publishers to announce new titles of the summer, following E3 2021, and we expect some big news on some of the year's upcoming games. A Halo Infinite leak could point to news on that game being shown, and we know Call of Duty: Vanguard, Saints Row, Death Stranding, and Far Cry 6 are among the many others that will be included in some form. [Update: The event is now over, and you can see all the Opening Night Live announcements for a recap of the biggest news.]

Gamescom Opening Night Live 2021 Start Time

The Opening Night Live stream begins with a 30-minute pre-show at 10:30 AM PT / 1:30 PM ET, followed by the main show at 11 AM PT / 2 PM ET. The live stream, according to a tweet from Geoff Keighley, will showcase "30+ games" in "a big two-hour show filled with news, first looks, gameplay, and much more." The pre-show will also feature eight reveals of its own according to another Keighley tweet. Opening Night Live will broadcast live in multiple countries in English, but according to the official Gamescom website "creators will also co-stream and provide commentary on the program in different languages."

  • 11:00 AM PT
  • 1:00 PM CDT
  • 2:00 PM ET
  • 7:00 PM BST

How To Watch The Gamescom Opening Night Live 2021 Stream

In addition to the embedded stream above, the event will be broadcast on The Game Awards' Twitch channel.

Keighley has teased multiple announcements in the days leading up to the event, including new information for Call of Duty Vanguard, Far Cry 6, and a reboot for the Saints Row franchise. The full list of what has been teased so far is below.

Keighley also tweeted a list of companies that are involved in the show 24 hours before it's scheduled to kick off.

Opening Night Live represents the closest thing we have to a major press conference-style event for Gamescom. But on Tuesday, we did get both Destiny 2- and Xbox-centric streams that revealed a bunch of news.

On Bungie's side, we learned about The Witch Queen, Destiny 2's next expansion, which launches next year. That will introduce some major changes to the game, including a brand-new weapon crafting system. Bungie also announced another DLC expansion, The Final Shape, and shared its plans to conclude the ongoing narrative arc that started with the first Destiny. All of this coincided with the launch of the Season 15 update.

Xbox's event was somewhat low-key, surprisingly deliver nothing on the Halo front--although that could be coming at Opening Night Live, given that a Halo Infinite release date has now leaked. We did find out about a Borderlands-themed event in Sea of Thieves and specifics on cloud streaming coming to Xbox consoles, which will eventually allow Series X|S games to be played on Xbox One.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 5 comments about this story