Free Steam And Xbox One Game Now Playable All Weekend

Rocket League will be on sale this weekend, too.

1 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Rocket League - Jurassic World Car Pack Trailer

PC and Xbox One owners have a chance to play Rocket League for free this weekend. Between Thursday, July 5 and Monday, July 9, you can download the game on Steam or Xbox One without paying a cent. The free version includes all game modes, playlists, features, and arenas. The one caveat is that Xbox One owners will need an Xbox Live Gold subscription to play.

To encourage players to buy the game, Rocket League and select DLC will be available for 50% off on Steam and Xbox One starting this weekend and running through July 9. That brings the core game down to $10.

No Caption Provided
Gallery image 1Gallery image 2Gallery image 3Gallery image 4Gallery image 5Gallery image 6Gallery image 7Gallery image 8Gallery image 9Gallery image 10
  • Free Weekend Start Time: Thursday, July 5 at 10am PDT (1pm EDT, 7pm CEST)
  • Free Weekend End Time: Monday, July 9 at 10am PDT (1pm EDT, 7pm CEST)

Rocket League is a team-based online competitive game that's basically indoor soccer with cars. That might sound like it would be a clunky game to play, but once you get the hang of it, you'll probably find that it's surprisingly nuanced and highly competitive.

From GameSpot's 9/10 Rocket League review: "The joy of Rocket League rests on the countless plans that are conceived and discarded every other second in any given match. Trying to predict where and how the ball will bounce next is a game within the game. Despite the use of cars, Rocket League emulates the emotional surges typical of The Beautiful Game, such as the rush of an unexpected fast break or a well-timed header into a goal. With Rocket League, the promising concept of combining two wonderful things--cars and soccer--is equally magnificent in execution."

Last year the game came out on Nintendo Switch, where it remains very good. Rocket League developer Psyonix announced earlier this year that Rocket League had passed 40 million players.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 1 comments about this story