Fortnite's Final Season 5 Images Tease "Worlds Collide"

You have my axe!

6 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Fortnite Season 5 Teasers Are Getting Really Weird - GameSpot Daily


Related
Fortnite
Follow

Fortnite Season 5 is just around the corner, and Epic has been steadily hinting at a historical or time travel theme this time around. Those clues are slowly getting more explicit, and the latest teaser image appears to be at it again--perhaps even showing an upcoming piece of equipment in the process. [Update: We've gotten one final teaser image, and although it doesn't really offer anything new, it does hammer home that the theme going into the new season is "worlds collide." You can see it below and get ready for the Season 5 update and downtime.]

The teaser image dropped on Twitter shows a stylized axe similar to Viking and Scandinavian hatchets. We can probably expect to see the axe make an appearance in Fortnite proper, perhaps as part of the Season 5 Battle Pass, which should be full of new cosmetic rewards. The same image appeared in today's in-game updates menu, with the phrase "Worlds Collide." That would seem to tie in with everything we've seen happening in the past few weeks.

The final teaser
The final teaser

For days, Fortnite has been home to strange time-bending shenanigans. After a missile launch appeared to open rifts in the map, strange historical objects have been phasing into existence. The effect goes both ways, too, as some items that have disappeared from the Fortnite map have popped up in unexpected places in the real world. Or sometimes, llamas. All of that has led to speculation of a time-travel theme for Season 5, which this latest tease seems to imply as well. The objects popping up in-game don't seem to match the time period, so this all stands to reason.

Fortnite Season 5 is scheduled to begin on Thursday, July 12, at 1 AM PDT / 4 AM EDT / 9 AM BST / 6 PM AET, so you have precious little time left to finish the Season 4 challenges. You can also take that time to finish your fan film for a screening and a bunch of V-Bucks.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 6 comments about this story