Fortnite Server Downtime Over, Season 4 Update Live Now [Update]

Brace for impact.

2 Comments

Update: Fortnite's server downtime has now ended, meaning you can get started with the Season 4 update on PS4, Xbox One, PC, and mobile. Original story follows.

Season 4 of Fortnite: Battle Royale is just around the corner. Epic is kicking off the next season of its popular battle royale game on PS4, Xbox One, PC, and mobile tomorrow, May 1, which will be preceded by a period of downtime as the developer deploys the title's latest update.

As with previous weekly patches, servers will be taken offline in the early hours of the morning to prepare the game for the Season 4 update. Epic hasn't specified how long servers will remain down, but on Twitter the developer announced the maintenance period begins on May 1 at 1 AM PT / 4 AM ET / 8 AM GMT.

Aside from some cryptic teases, Epic hasn't revealed many details about Season 4 yet, although the aforementioned tweet says, "Impact is imminent," hinting that the giant meteor looming mysteriously in the sky will finally come crashing down. Previous teases for Season 4 have warned players to "brace for impact" and were accompanied by artwork that features characters resembling superheroes.

Similarly, Epic hasn't revealed how much the Season 4 Battle Pass for Battle Royale will cost. Previous Battle Passes could only be purchased for 950 V-Bucks, Fortnite's premium in-game currency. Prior to the start of Season 3, however, Epic had planned to sell the Battle Pass directly for real money, although that was ultimately scuttled just before the season began.

In the meantime, Battle Royale players still have a little more time to complete Fortnite's Season 3 challenges. The season formally concludes at 12:30 AM PT / 3:30 AM ET / 8:30 AM BST on May 1, giving Battle Pass owners only a few more hours to earn this season's awards while they're still available. Until then, be sure to check out our full guide to Fortnite Season 3's challenges and rewards.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Fortnite Season 4 Update Brought The Meteor Crashing Down - GameSpot Daily

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 2 comments about this story