First Rage 2 Gameplay Trailer Revealed

Rage against the machine in id Software and Avalanche's open-world sequel.

119 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: RAGE 2 - Official Gameplay Trailer


Related
Rage 2
Follow

After a series of teasers and an initial reveal trailer, Bethesda has finally shown off some Rage 2 gameplay. The PS4, Xbox One, and PC shooter features a lot of over-the-top action, a bunch of guns, and for the first time in the series, an open world. Take a look at the new footage for yourself above.

In addition, Bethesda has revealed a few more details about the upcoming game. "Born from a collaboration of the gods of shooters, id Software, and the masters of open-world mayhem, Avalanche Studios, Rage 2 packs a carnival of carnage so intense it can only come from two legendary AAA studios," reads a press release. "That's right, this is a f***ing AAAAAA game."

No Caption Provided
Gallery image 1Gallery image 2Gallery image 3Gallery image 4Gallery image 5Gallery image 6Gallery image 7

Bethesda has not yet confirmed a release date for Rage 2; it simply says the game is coming in Spring 2019. The sequel is set after an asteroid kills 80% of the world's population: "Ruthless and bloodthirsty gangs roam the open roads and the tyrannical Authority seek to rule with an iron fist." You play as Walker, "the last Ranger of the wasteland and a threat to [The Authority's] power." Your character is robbed of his home and left for dead, but you must now "rage for justice and freedom."

Nanotrite powers and vehicles return from the original game, meanwhile: "From monster trucks to gyrocopters, use an assortment of rugged and wasteland-ready vehicles to speed across the badlands. If you see it, you can drive it."

Shortly after Rage 2 was confirmed, a page on Bethesda's website revealed that it would be developed not just by id Software, but also Avalanche Studios--the company responsible for the Just Cause series and 2015's Mad Max.

Bethesda stated we'll see new Rage 2 gameplay at the company's E3 press conference, which is set for 6:30 PM PT / 9:30 PM ET on June 10 (2:30 AM BST / 11:30 AM AET on June 11). The company recently teased that the showcase might be its longest one ever, although beyond Rage 2, we know little else about what will be included.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

  •   View Comments (119)
    Join the conversation
    There are 119 comments about this story