Final Monster Hunter World Beta Is Live Now On PS4

Try Monster Hunter: World for free right now.

14 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: One Last Hunt In Monster Hunter: World Beta


Related
Monster Hunter: World
Follow

Capcom's final Monster Hunter World beta has gone live on PlayStation 4. The trial, as with previous Monster Hunter World betas, allows players to try the game for free before its final January 26 release date. However, despite the final game coming to PS4, Xbox One, and PC, this beta is--once again--only available on PS4.

The free beta is live now and runs until 6 PM PT / 9 PM ET on January 21 (that's 2 AM GMT / 12 PM AEST on January 22). If you've played one of the game's other two betas, you can simply use the same client to play this one; those who haven't played before will need to download the 5.5 GB client afresh. You can get an idea of what to expect from the full game in our Monster Hunter World review.

Monster Hunter World's first beta was conducted in early December, exclusively for PlayStation Plus subscribers on PS4. A second beta followed later in the month for all PS4 owners consisting of the same two areas and three monsters to hunt: the Great Jagras, Anjanath, and Barroth. All of that will be present in this final beta, but you'll also get to square off against World's flagship monster, the Nergigante.

Nergigante is an Elder Dragon and the monster featured on World's box art. The full game also sees the return of several other Elder Dragons, as well as the introduction of some new ones, which are showcased in World's new trailer.

Monster Hunter World launches for PS4 and Xbox One on January 26. It's also headed to PC, with Capcom recently saying that version will arrive this fall. The PS4 version has gotten not only preferential treatment with betas, but it will also receive exclusive content themed around Horizon: Zero Dawn, and a special edition Monster Hunter PS4 Pro bundle is on the way. For more on the upcoming RPG, check out some of our Monster Hunter World gameplay.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 14 comments about this story