Final Fantasy 7 Remake Co-Director Teases Upcoming News

The co-director for FF7R says that he has an online program coming that will pack surprises for fans.

70 Comments

We may get some news regarding Final Fantasy 7 Remake this weekend, according to the game's co-director. Motomu Toriyama said that in addition to an upcoming orchestral concert in Japan, there will also be a "special program" with some of its own reveals.

Toriyama shared the news on the Square Enix Music Twitter account. Based on a translation from Gematsu, it's unclear if any planned announcements will be made or teased during the concert itself, or a second streaming event sometime in the future. The FF7R Orchestra Concert will take place on February 13 at 5 PM in Japan, or 3 AM ET / 12 AM PT, while no date or time has been given for any secondary events.

Given that the second part is still early in development, having just entered full production in the middle of last year, it's unlikely we'll see news regarding the sequel anytime soon. We know that it was a timed exclusive on PS4, which means it could go to PC and Xbox as early as March. That would make the timing right on an announcement soon. Of course, this could just be announcing some kind of tie-in or FF7 merch.

FF7R was named one of GameSpot's Best Games of 2020, and is one of relatively few games to receive a 10/10 "Essential" score in GameSpot's review.

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 70 comments about this story