E3 2019 Leak: Ubisoft Will Announce New Roller Derby Game During Press Conference

Ubisoft confirmed another leak but hasn't addressed this one.

Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: E3 2019 Leaks Include Something Called "Ubisoft Pass" - GS News Update

It's become standard procedure for Ubisoft games to leak ahead of their official announcement, and that's happened again. As many have been proven to be true, that leads some credibility to this newest leak--that Ubisoft will announce a roller derby-themed multiplayer game at E3 2019. If so, we'll be hearing about it in a matter of hours, as the Ubisoft E3 conference begins later today, June 10, at 1 PM PT / 4 PM ET / 9 PM BST (6 AM AET on June 11). Another Ubisoft leak--Watch Dogs Legion--has already been confirmed by the publisher.

According to the leak--first reported by Spiel Times via leaked assets and gameplay details, all of which have now appeared on ResetEra--Roller Champions is an upcoming multiplayer-focused roller derby game developed by Ubisoft. Visually, the in-game characters look an awful lot like Fortnite. However, the contained arenas surrounded by cheering fans, the assortment of different casual and ranked matches, and the controls are very similar to Rocket League. Just looking at the leaked footage, Roller Champions' courses look like Rocket League's arenas as well, with a sunny beach and in-door professional stadium among the playable tracks.

No Caption Provided

When Polygon reached out to a Ubisoft representative, the company responded that it does not comment on "rumors and speculation," so nothing has been confirmed. Roller Champions is supposedly coming to Xbox One, PS4, PC, and Nintendo Switch. However, no scheduled release date is included in the leak. If the leak happens to be true, and Ubisoft does announce Roller Champions during its E3 2019 press conference, a launch date would probably be announced then.

During the company's May 2019 financial earnings call, Ubisoft revealed it had three unannounced games scheduled to release between January and March 2020. Ubisoft didn't supply many details for what the three games are, other than all three would be full-priced releases and all be different genres (a specific phrase used was "unique experiences"). A roller derby game is pretty unique for Ubisoft, so it's possible Roller Champions is one of the three and thus scheduled to release in Q1 2020.

E3 2019 Conference Schedule

More E3 news:

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story