E3 2019: Google Stadia Games, Release Date, Price Reveal Today [Update]

The cloud is closer than you think.

Comments

Google Stadia is one of the most exciting new video game innovations we know about, and later today we should know even more about the cloud streaming platform. Google Stadia Connect, a press conference not unlike the sort Microsoft, Nintendo and more will give next week at E3 2019, is happening today.

[Update: The Connect event is over, and it brought all of the expected news, including launch details and price. We also learned about a variety of Stadia games, such as Baldur's Gate III and Destiny 2's new Shadowkeep DLC. In the case of the latter, this news coincided with the announcement of a new cross-save system that lets you play the game on any console, PC, or Stadia with the same character. We also learned about Google Stadia Pro, a subscription service that comes with some free game and access to 4K video, as well as the Founder's Edition and much more.]

The livestream begins on June 6 at 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET / 5 PM BST (2 AM AEST on June 7) where Google will reveal some key details, such as launch information, games, and price.

Google previously promised that these types of details would be revealed at some point in the next few months. The teaser for the Stadia Connect event--check out the tweet below--confirms it will answer those lingering questions. Given that Google wants Stadia to compete with the major PC and console platforms, it makes sense to position it just ahead of the industry's biggest event. These details were some of the key things we hoped to see from Stadia at E3.

This apparently won't be a one-off event. Google describing this as the "first-ever" Stadia Connect suggests we'll seeing more of these in the future, perhaps to continue revealing more games and details about the service.

While E3 won't kick off until the following week, the industry event has been slowly bleeding into more pre-show events such as press conferences and Electronic Arts' public-facing EA Play event. Google's unofficial but E3-adjacent event just takes that trend even further. Thursday is also home to the reveal of the "next chapter" of Destiny 2.

The press conference days will include Microsoft on Sunday, June 9 at 1 PM PT / 4 PM ET / 9 PM BST (6 AM AET on June 10). It has started to detail its own streaming platform, code-named xCloud, and we expect to see more details at that press conference. (Microsoft and Sony also recently announced a cloud gaming partnership, although we don't yet know what that will entail or if we'll hear about it all during E3.) Check out our full press conference schedule to plan your watching parties. In the meantime, check out all we know about Google Stadia.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Google Stadia Launch Date, Pricing, And More Announced - GS News Update

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story