E3 2018: Sony Announcing New PS4 Games, Release Dates Before The Show [Update]

Let the countdown to E3 2018 officially begin.

122 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Sony To Announce New PlayStation Games Ahead Of E3 2018 - GS News Update

Update 3: Another day, another Sony reveal. This time it's for a narrative-driven PS4 title called Twin Mirror. It's in development at Dontnod, the same studio responsible for Life is Strange and Vampyr. It's due out sometime in 2019.

Update 2: The next Sony announcement has come, and this time around it's a Days Gone release date. Following a previously announced delay, the open-world zombie game will launch for PS4 on February 22, 2019.

Update: The first of Sony's reveals has happened, and it's for an unexpected new Tetris game from the creator of Rez and Lumines. It's called Tetris Effect and is headed to PS4 with optional PSVR support. Stay tuned for more details on the upcoming announcements. The original story follows.

E3 2018 starts in a little under a week, and ahead of the massive showcase, Sony has released an announcement schedule on the PlayStation Blog leading up to its press conference on Monday, June 11. Starting Wednesday, June 6, Sony plans to announce three new games, a release date for an upcoming game (more than likely a PlayStation 4 exclusive), and details of "An Eagerly Anticipated Game [Coming] to PS VR," each being offered once a day for the next five days, effectively concluding on Sunday, June 10. From Wednesday to Sunday, each announcement will be held at 8 AM PT / 11 AM ET (4 PM BST), as we join Sony for its countdown to E3 2018.

It's difficult to say what those three new games could be, as a few of Sony's studios are already working on named projects: Bend Studio is working on Days Gone, Japan Studio is supposedly working on Astro Bot: Rescue Mission, London Studio is working on Blood & Truth, Media Molecule is working on Dreams, Naughty Dog is working on The Last of Us Part II, and Sucker Punch is working on Ghost of Tsushima.

However, in the past four or so years, Sony has opened four new studios: PixelOpus, established in 2014; Manchester Studio, established in 2015; ForwardWorks, established in 2016; and San Mateo Studio, also established in 2016. PixelOpus is currently working on Concrete Genie, which is slated for a 2018 release, but there's no official confirmation of what the other studios are working on, so Sony could have these three studios announce their projects.

Sony's E3 2018 press conference is Monday, June 11 at 6 PM PT / 9 PM ET (2 AM BST / 11 AM on June 12). Be sure to check our E3 2018 page for coverage of all the latest games, including interviews, previews, trailers, and more.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 122 comments about this story