Doom 1, 2, And 3 Surprise Launch On Nintendo Switch, PS4, And Xbox One Today

The classic shooters are coming to new platforms.

29 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: How Doom Eternal Battlemode Works - GS News Update

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Update: QuakeCon 2019 is now officially underway, and as part of its keynote presentation, Bethesda confirmed that Doom, Doom 2, and Doom 3 are coming to new platforms. As leaked earlier on Nintendo UK's website, the classic first-person shooters are releasing on Nintendo Switch, as well as PlayStation 4 and Xbox One today, July 26. Additionally, Doom 1 and 2 are also releasing on mobile devices via the App Store and Google Play. The original story follows.

This year marks the 25th anniversary of Doom, and the seminal FPS series will have a big presence at QuakeCon, which kicks off later today, July 26. Bethesda has already confirmed we'll get another look at the upcoming Doom Eternal during its QuakeCon keynote, but it appears another surprise from the event has leaked early.

As spotted by Nintendo Life, the original Doom, Doom 2, and Doom 3 have been listed for Switch on the Nintendo UK website. The pages each listed the games as releasing for Switch today, with Doom 1 and 2 priced at £4, while Doom 3 costs £8. The titles aren't live on the Switch eShop, however, and no pages for them have yet appeared on Nintendo of America's website, so it's unclear if these listings were simply a mistake or went live earlier than intended.

The QuakeCon keynote begins today at 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET, and it'll be followed by an Influence of Doom panel at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET. Bethesda will also host panels for Fallout 76 and Elder Scrolls Online this weekend. If you're interested in following along, you can watch the QuakeCon livestreams here.

Doom Eternal is coming to Switch as well as PS4, Xbox One, and PC this November. We got an extended look at the game during Bethesda's E3 2019 press conference, where the publisher showcased a brutal gameplay trailer and revealed the title's collector's edition, which comes with a full-size Doom Slayer helmet. You can read more in our Doom Eternal pre-order guide.

QuakeCon 2019 Schedule

Friday, July 26th

  • QuakeCon Keynote featuring Doom Eternal - 11 AM CT (12 PM ET / 9 AM PT)
  • Influence of Doom Panel - 12 PM CT (1 PM ET / 10 AM PT)

Saturday, July 27th

  • Fallout 76 Panel - 10 AM CT (11 AM ET / 8 AM PT)
  • Knee Deep in Doom panel - 11 AM CT (12 PM ET / 9 AM PT)
  • Elder Scrolls Online Panel - 2 PM CT (3 PM ET / 11 AM PT)

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 29 comments about this story