GameSpot may receive revenue from affiliate and advertising partnerships for sharing this content and from purchases through links.

Diablo 4 - How To Respec

You can reset your ranks and skills in Diablo 4, but it won't come cheap.


Knowing how to respec in Diablo 4 is something you'll want to figure out quickly. One of the fundamental parts of any role-playing game is unlocking new skills to further enhance your character's abilities and core mechanics. As any Diablo veteran knows, skills are a major progression point throughout a player's journey in Sanctuary, and that remains true in Diablo 4. Blizzard Entertainment has broken the mold when it comes to a character's skill tree, as the core system from previous games is still in place.

Luckily, this isn't a complicated process, but unlike some other RPGs, it's not a free endeavor. Read below for the full scoop on how to respec your skills in Diablo 4.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Diablo IV Everything To Know

How to respec in Diablo 4

From the moment you reach level two and unlock your first skill, you will be able to respec in Diablo 4. In order to do so, bring up your skill tree panel (Shift+S on keyboard) and you will see your current skill tree. At the bottom of the panel, you will see an option that says "Refund All." This button, when clicked, will reset every single one of your skills.

In addition to that, all of your ranks will also be reset. Ranks are essentially added tiers for your skills that make them more powerful. We recommend not pressing the Refund All button unless you truly want to start from square one.

Instead, we suggest you right-click on the skills you want to respec. This will reset that specific skill, and not cause your other skills to be affected. However, if the skill you want to respec has another skill that is dependent on it being active, then you'll need to reset that entire branch of the skill tree. If you want to reset a skill's ranks, you can also right-click on the skill.

In Diablo 4, you can respec your ranks and skills as freely as you want up to level 15. Past level 15, resetting your skills will require increasingly more gold. The higher level you are, the more gold each respec will cost you.

In your first 15 levels of Diablo 4, you should feel free to experiment with as many possible skills and builds as possible. Try out different branches and see what works best for your playstyle. If you wait and put this off, then it will cost you some serious gold beyond level 15.

For more help on on Diablo 4, don't miss our guides hub.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story