GameSpot may receive revenue from affiliate and advertising partnerships for sharing this content and from purchases through links.

Diablo 4 - Guides For All Five Character Classes

Take a look at the different classes that you can play as in Diablo 4.


Diablo 4 has several heroes that you can choose from, with each class offering unique playstyles due to their mechanics. While you can "main" one particular character, you can still try out others to see what they bring to the table. Here's our Diablo 4 class hub guide to help you with the different heroes that you can select.

Diablo 4 class hub - Playable classes and their gameplay mechanics

There are currently five Diablo 4 classes that we know of. These are the Barbarian, Rogue, Sorcerer, Necromancer, and Druid. Each has unique mechanics that allow for varied gameplay, namely their skills (i.e., abilities that can be activated), talents (i.e., passives), and specific quirks to make them stand out. If you can't decide which one to use, be sure to read our Diablo 4 classes ranked list, which lays out the strengths and weaknesses of each class, helping you determine your personal preference.


The Diablo 4 Sorcerer is your traditional spellcaster. This character harnesses the power of the elements, burning foes with fire, freezing them with ice, or zapping them with lightning. The class also uses the Enchantment mechanic, where active skills can be equipped for a passive boon.


Everyone loves the Barbarian, a staple of the Diablo series. These brutes charge headlong into battle, leaping down to smash opponents and screaming at the top of their lungs with their warcries. Barbarians use the Weapon Arsenal mechanic, where their abilities require a particular type of weapon (i.e., slicing, bludgeoning, two-handed, and the like). They may swap their armaments freely to activate and cycle through various attacks.


Rogues are your nominal dexterity-based class, agile and nimble, speedily dashing to avoid attacks or strike when least expected. Similar to characters from previous games like the Amazon and Demon Hunter, Rogues provide a mix of both melee and ranged expertise. Moreover, the Imbuement mechanic lets them infuse attacks with either poison, cold, or shadow damage.

As the Diablo 4 Rogue, you can deal damage up close, then dash away to shoot foes from a distance.

As the Diablo 4 Rogue, you can deal damage up close, then dash away to shoot foes from a distance.


Necromancers tend to be a fan-favorite for long-time Diablo fans. It's partly because of their background lore (i.e., they're Priests of Rathma), and their strengths. Chief among these is a means of raising undead minions/golems, making corpses explode, and using the powers of bone and poisons. The Diablo 4 Necromancer will become available during the open beta, which runs from March 24 to 27.


The Diablo 4 Druid is a hybrid class. On one hand, they can do a bit of spellcasting, as their communion with nature lets them call on the elements. On the other, they may also shapeshift into ferocious beasts, tearing apart enemies that get too close. Similar to the Necromancer, the Druid will also become playable during the open beta.

Diablo 4 is currently in its beta stage. As such, some of the information here may change as we get closer to the game's official launch on June 6. We'll update this guide accordingly. Find all of our Diablo 4 guides in one place.

Jason Rodriguez on Google+

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 4 comments about this story