Destiny's VIP Rewards for Year One Players Outlined

Get a sparrow, player emblem, armor shader, and more.


Bungie has officially revealed the Destiny VIP rewards that will be available to select players with the release of the upcoming expansion pack, The Taken King.

Having already teased these VIP rewards earlier this year, Bungie today released a new trailer that offers a much better look at each of the items. These include a special armor shader, sparrow, and player emblem, all of which you can see in the video and image gallery below.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

In order to qualify for these rewards, you'll need to fulfill one of two criteria: You need to have reached Light level 30 with at least one character or have purchased the first two expansions (The Dark Below and House of Wolves) by August 31, 2015. Assuming at least one of those true is true, you'll also have to play The Taken King by February 1, 2016 in order to get your hands on the rewards.

These rewards will be available with the launch of The Taken King, which is due out on September 15.

Bungie also today informed players that Gjallarhorn, the coveted rocket launcher, will not be upgradeable in The Taken King, as some weapons and armor will be.

These announcements come on the heels of the first of several livestreams centered around The Taken King. The new expansion overhauls Destiny's leveling system and much more.

The products discussed here were independently chosen by our editors. GameSpot may get a share of the revenue if you buy anything featured on our site.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 183 comments about this story