Destiny's First DLC Has Free Content For Everyone

All players will receive new weapons and armor, daily bounties, and five additional bounty slots in December through The Dark Below.

No Caption Provided

Even if you don't buy the first expansion for Destiny, called The Dark Below, you'll still receive new content for Bungie's first-person shooter, the developer has revealed.

In this week's Bungie Weekly Update, the developer outlined what's included for people who buy the content and what's coming to the game for everyone--paying and non-paying players alike.

First up, below is what Destiny players who buy The Dark Below for $20 or through the $35 DLC pass will receive at launch on December 9 across Xbox 360, Xbox One, PlayStation 3, and PlayStation 4.

  • 3 Story missions featuring new enemies and encounters in the Cosmodrome and Moon
  • Tower Character and Vendor, Eris, featuring new Quests, Bounties, and rewards
  • Exclusive Legendary Weapons and Armor
  • New Exotic Weapons
  • “Will of Crota” Strike
  • “Crota's End” Raid
  • 3 Crucible Maps: Pantheon, Skyshock, and The Cauldron
  • Maximum Light Level increase to 32

Bungie says there will also be activity playlist tweaks--a new Crucible for the new maps is one example. In addition, Bungie will release in-depth notes regarding weapon and armor changes to be implemented alongside the release of The Dark Below "in the coming weeks."

Meanwhile, new content and features for all players coming to Destiny through The Dark Below:

  • Some new Weapons and Armor
  • New Daily Bounties
  • Five additional Bounty slots

The products discussed here were independently chosen by our editors. GameSpot may get a share of the revenue if you buy anything featured on our site.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 137 comments about this story