Destiny 2's 30th Anniversary Expansion Needs To Be Purchased On Each Platform You Play On

The upcoming Bungie 30th Anniversary event isn't considered a Seasonal event, so be sure which platform you want to buy it on.


The most recent This Week At Bungie post detailing what's going on in Destiny 2 was much lighter than last week's, but included an important note. Unlike purchasing a season in Destiny 2, the Bungie 30th Anniversary event will not transfer between platforms because it's considered a DLC--so if you purchase it on one platform, like PlayStation 5, it'll only work for you on that platform. It will function as an expansion rather than the free seasonal events like The Dawning or Festival of the Lost.

Players will have to purchase the 30th Anniversary pack for $25 in order to play most of the content it includes; it isn't included as part of the Season of the Lost. The only free part of this event is the new 6-player matchmade activity called Dares of Eternity.

In addition to Dares of Eternity, the DLC includes a new Destiny 1 loot cave-themed dungeon. The DLC also marks the debut of Gjallarhorn in Destiny 2, with a new quest to acquire the much-loved Exotic rocket launcher from Destiny 1. Players can also get the Destiny 1 returning weapons Eyasluna and 1000-Yard Stare.

Bungie 30th Anniversary Dungeon
Bungie 30th Anniversary Dungeon

The rest of the 30th Anniversary Pack will give players new ornaments, emblems, shaders, Exotic vehicles, and more. The DLC also comes with a new Thorn-inspired armor set. However, Bungie hasn't specified if items listed for the 30th Anniversary Pack will drop as rewards or if they'll be available as soon as the event begins. It's customary for Eververse to sell new items when an event begins, so players could likely see that here.

This is the first time Bungie has sold a smaller-scale DLC for Destiny 2--normally, its expansions are yearly affairs that include more content and come with a higher price tag. Season passes, on the other hand, allow players to access additional content, but are cheaper and transferrable between platforms. When Witch Queen launches, players will need to purchase dungeons for the first time as well. The Standard edition of the expansion doesn't include the dungeons, but the Deluxe edition will come with both dungeons set to release in Year 5.

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 2 comments about this story