GameSpot may receive revenue from affiliate and advertising partnerships for sharing this content and from purchases through links.

Destiny 2: The Final Shape Campaign Missions List And How Long To Beat

Here's a look at the missions you'll be playing in the Destiny 2: The Final Shape campaign.


After years of expansions and seasonal content, Destiny 2: The Final Shape has arrived. The latest expansion to the game introduces a new campaign that unfolds across a series of missions, all focused on preventing the Witness from enacting its plan to reduce the universe to a state of eternal stillness.

Can the Guardians and the rest of the coalition forces save the day in time? That's a question that can only be answered by playing the game, and if you're looking to dive in, here's a list of every mission in The Final Shape campaign:

Destiny 2: The Final Shape missions

  • Transmigration
  • Temptation
  • Exegesis
  • Requiem
  • Ascent
  • Dissent
  • Iconoclasm

Similar to previous Destiny 2 expansions, that's a handful of missions to work your way through, although each one is fairly lengthy and they're supplemented by a brief dive into the game's new strike, Liminality. The missions can be played in Normal or Legendary mode, and choosing the tougher difficulty will help you get ready for the Salvation's Edge raid by rewarding you with a set of 1960 power armor.

While these missions form the bulk of The Final Shape's story, the true conclusion can be found in its raid, Salvation's Edge. This is where players will finally take on the Witness inside of its stronghold within the Pale Heart, as the race will be on to prevent it from achieving its goals.

How long is Destiny 2: The Final Shape?

How long the campaign takes to complete comes down to player skill and the difficulty mode chosen, but you can expect to spend around 6-7 hours playing through The Final Shape missions before you get to the raid. If you can't join the raid, you'll still be able to finish the fight against the Witness in a piece of separate content that will be unlocked after the raid is beaten the first time by another fireteam.

While the campaign is short, it does unlock a ton of content. Exotic weapon missions, the Pale Heart patrol zone, and other post-launch content can be accessed after you've clashed with the Witness, and players can also complete their Prism subclass by hunting down additional Fragments and Aspects.

If you are looking to remind the Witness that you've slayed a few gods already, you can check out our The Final Shape guides hub for tips and tricks to get yourself ready for the ultimate fight. You can read up on how to get the new Exotic sword Ergo Sum, Prismatic build guides, and how to increase your power.

Darryn Bonthuys on Google+

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story