Destiny 2 Servers Down For Maintenance This Week Ahead Of New Update

With The Dawning ongoing, Bungie will release a new patch.

3 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Destiny 2 PC Garden World Nightfall and Last Week of Dawning Event


Related
Destiny 2
Follow

Amidst the holidays, things have been somewhat quiet on the Destiny 2 front. However, we're set to get a small update this week along with a batch of server maintenance that will render the game unplayable for a period of time on Wednesday, Bungie has announced. [Update: Destiny 2's maintenance is officially underway.]

The maintenance period will follow a similar pattern to those we've seen in the past. On Wednesday, January 3, at 7 AM PT / 10 AM ET / 3 PM GMT (2 AM AET on January 4), maintenance will begin, at which point players will no longer be able to log in on PC, PS4, and Xbox One. An hour later, everyone who was playing when maintenance began will be booted offline. Bungie expects maintenance to conclude at 12 PM PT, although, as always, that is merely an estimate.

At the same time that Bungie wraps up maintenance, it will release a new update, hotfix 1.1.1.2. The studio has not explained what this update will do, but these hotfixes tend to focus on bug fixes and other minor improvements, so you shouldn't expect any major new features to be introduced. We do know there is a lingering exploit involving the Warlock's Voidwalker Super ability in the Mayhem Crucible mode, but Bungie previously said that would not be fixed before the ongoing Dawning event comes to an end on January 9.

The Dawning has introduced a ton of new items to Destiny 2, though the easiest way to obtain them is through Eververse purchases with real money. For a look at what you can get, you can check out our gallery of all the new Dawning armor and gear. Even if you're not interested in paying for any of the content, there are still some new things to do, such as checking out the aforementioned Mayhem mode.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

  •   View Comments (3)
    Join the conversation
    There are 3 comments about this story