Destiny 2 Servers Back Online But With Queues As Forsaken Releases

Destiny 2's next expansion is almost here.

Tap To Unmute

Register / Sign in to save autoplay settings forever across all devices!

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Destiny 2: Forsaken DLC Offers A Welcome Grind For Revenge

Update 2: Bungie has brought Destiny 2's servers online, and Season 4 has officially begun with the release of Forsaken. If you're logging in shortly after maintenance ended at 10 AM PT, you may be faced with a queue as Bungie deals with people rushing to get in to experience the new expansion.

Update: Destiny 2 servers are now offline for pre-Forsaken maintenance. Additionally, update 2.0.0.1 is now available for download ahead of the game coming back online. Bungie says this should happen at around 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET / 6 PM BST; whenever it does, you'll be able to log in and begin diving into what Forsaken has to offer, provided you've purchased the new DLC. One aspect of Forsaken you won't be able to jump into immediately is the Raid, which is scheduled to debut on September 14. The original story follows.

Bungie has released detailed information about the launch for Destiny 2: Forsaken. The expansion comes to all platforms on September 4, but you'll need to download a Day 1 patch before you can play.

On September 4 at 7:00 AM PT / 10:00 AM ET / 3:00 PM BST, Destiny 2's servers will go offline for maintenance. Bungie predicts the necessary patch to play Forsaken will go live about 30 minutes later. At 10:00 AM PT / 1:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM BST, Destiny 2 will go back online. The Forsaken expansion will be playable at that time assuming you've finished downloading the patch.

Figuring players would need time to level up in preparation for it, Forsaken's raid, Last Wish, won't go live as quickly after the expansion's launch as previous raids did. On Bungie's website, Destiny 2 senior designer Joe Blackburn said that Last Wish will go live on September 14 at 10:00 AM PT / 1:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM BST.

Bungie has been advertising Forsaken's launch with the tease that the expansion would mark the death of Cayde, one of Destiny 2's more beloved NPCs. A new trailer showcasing Cayde's final moments was just released and it's one of Destiny's more badass cinematic videos. Forsaken also adds a hybrid PvP/PvE mode called Gambit. Pre-ordering Forsaken allows you to play Gambit on September 1 at 10:00 AM PT / 1:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM BST.

Destiny 2: Forsaken will be available for Xbox One, PS4, and PC. A huge pre-DLC patch is now live.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 6 comments about this story
Loading More Images