Destiny 2 Server Maintenance Bringing Game Offline For 6 Hours Today, Here's Exactly When

Get your fill of Destiny 2 quick before it goes offline.

4 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Destiny 2 PC Week 6 Reset Savathun's Song Nightfall and Season 1 Ends


Related
Destiny 2
Follow

Destiny 2 will be unplayable for a few hours this week as developer Bungie performs server maintenance. The company is taking the game offline for around six hours to perform the maintenance, which applies to PS4, Xbox One, and PC. [Update: Destiny 2 servers are now down as maintenance is underway.]

Players will no longer be able to log in from 8 AM PT / 11 AM ET / 4 PM GMT on Friday, December (that's 2 AM AEST on December 2 in Australia). An hour later, anyone still playing the game will be booted to the title screen. Bungie says the maintenance will end five hours after that--at 2 PM PT / 5 PM ET / 10 PM GMT (8 AM in Australia).

Bungie has provided no clues as to what--if anything--is changing; it only says that "no gameplay content or updates will be introduced with this maintenance period." It could be related to an upcoming blog post, which will detail some key changes coming to Destiny 2.

It's possible that post--which replaces the now-canceled Curse of Osiris stream--will address the game's recent XP controversy. Fans discovered that Destiny 2 was limiting the amount of XP you earned when taking part in certain activities, such as Public Events. Bungie acknowledged this hidden system was in place and disabled it, stating, "We are not happy with the results." However, this seemingly welcome change coincided with another adjustment, this one doubling the amount of XP needed to rank up at the level cap. Bungie did not acknowledge this change at first, only later confirming it to be the case and informing players it is working on an update to the in-game UI to make this change clear.

The Curse of Osiris expansion launches on December 5. It will increase Destiny 2's level cap and offer PS4-exclusive content. For more, take a look at some of the new Curse of Osiris armor and gear or check out some Destiny 2: Curse of Osiris gameplay.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 4 comments about this story