Destiny 2 Nightfall Strike Guide [Updated]: The Inverted Spire Challenges, Modifiers

Here's this week challenge for Destiny 2 players.

Comments

Update: Due to the bug associated with A Garden World Nightfall strike, which prevented some players from gaining certain rewards, Bungie has changed the mission to The Inverted Spire. We have updated the text below to reflect the new mission. But please enjoy the video above of Erick Tay playing through the original Nightfall during our livestream.

It's the first week of the new year, and we've now gotten the first Destiny 2 weekly reset of 2018. This brings with it a new Nightfall Strike for players to try their hand at, along with a new Flashpoint on Io and a lineup of Eververse items to consider purchasing before The Dawning ends. Here's what to expect from this week's Nightfall, The Inverted Spire, on PC, PS4, and Xbox One.

In terms of Modifiers, we again see the return of Momentum. As a reminder, this particular modifier forces players to keep moving forward to restore health and and shields. Additionally, Timewarp: Rings is active, which means you'll have to jump through several rings scattered around the Strike to gain more time.

That's especially true if you're hoping to finish the first of this week's Challenges. Speed of Dark is enabled, as always, and requires you to finish the Strike with at least five minutes left on the timer. Unbroken tasks you with making it through with fewer than three deaths. And in addition to those, The Floor Is Lava tasks you and your fireteam to not get hit by Protheon's fiery ground attack before defeating it.

As with any week, completing the Nightfall rewards you with Powerful Gear. The Nightfall is one of the only ways to obtain that level of gear, which is a reliable way to boost your Power level. This Nightfall will be available until the next weekly reset, which occurs at 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET / 5 PM GMT on Tuesday, January 9 (4 AM AET on January 10).

The Nightfall is available now, but you'll be unable to try it--or anything else--for a period of time on Wednesday, January 3. Bungie has announced Destiny 2 maintenance and a new update will be deployed on that day, which will result in downtime for several hours. Meanwhile, The Dawning event continues and will come to an end on the same day as this Nightfall, January 9.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Destiny 2 PC Garden World Nightfall and Last Week of Dawning Event

$2.41 on Amazon
Buy
$6.99 on Walmart
Buy

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story