GameSpot may receive revenue from affiliate and advertising partnerships for sharing this content and from purchases through links.

Crash Bandicoot Trilogy Remaster May Not Be PS4 Exclusive

N. Sane Trilogy launches "first" on PS4.


If you're hoping to play the upcoming Crash Bandicoot trilogy remaster but don't own a PS4, you may not be completely out of luck.

To date, Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy has only been announced for PS4, where it launches on June 30. The PlayStation Ireland Twitter account recently replied to a tweet and stated it will be exclusive to PS4. That tweet (captured in an image on NeoGAF) has since been deleted, with a new message correcting what it originally claimed.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy - Release Date Announcement Trailer

"To clarify our earlier post, it will be coming to PlayStation 4 and PS4 Pro first," the new tweet reads. It hasn't clarified this any further, but it sounds as if N. Sane Trilogy is a timed exclusive and, as such, could eventually launch on other platforms.

We've followed up with publisher Activision to confirm if this is the case. We'll report back with any details we receive.

No Caption Provided

N. Sane Trilogy is a remastered version of the first three Crash games, Crash Bandicoot, Crash Bandicoot 2: Cortex Strikes Back, and Crash Bandicoot: Warped. Those games were developed by Naughty Dog, but it's Vicarious Visions that's handling the remaster.

Crash is generally associated with the PlayStation family of systems; the three in this trilogy were published by Sony and only ever released on PS1. Later games and spinoffs in the series were also released on non-Sony platforms once publishing rights shifted to companies like Vivendi, Sierra, and Activision.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 151 comments about this story