CoD: Warzone Is A Very Big Download If You Don't Own Modern Warfare

Infinity Ward's battle royale mode will take up a lot of space on your PC, PS4, or Xbox One.

Comments

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare's battle royale mode, Warzone is now out for PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One. But to download the free-to-play experience, you're going to need lots of hard drive space, especially if you don't already have Modern Warfare installed.

Developer Infinity Ward shared a bunch of new details about Warzone in a lengthy blog post (you can also check out the Warzone update's patch notes here) where the studio also revealed the mode's download size. For Modern Warfare owners who are up-to-date on all of the game's latest patches, Warzone only requires 18-22 GB to install depending on your platform. But those who don't own Modern Warfare are looking at a Warzone download size anywhere between 83 and 101 GB.

Further, Modern Warfare owners got early access to Warzone, with the mode unlocking on March 10 at 8 AM PT / 11 AM ET / 3 PM GMT. Warzone unlocked for everyone else a few hours later at 12 PM PT / 3 PM ET / 7 PM GMT.

Warzone is Infinity Ward's take on battle royale. Here, players will see the "dense and sprawling world of Verdansk" populated with up to 150 combatants at one time. The map features a variety of locales, with tons of gear and vehicles littered throughout. Warzone includes two game types, and all progress earned in the battle royale mode will carry over to the full Modern Warfare multiplayer experience.

From what we've played so far, it has some interesting ideas, especially in terms of how its respawn system works and how it keeps things personal despite the high player count.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Call Of Duty: Warzone - Everything You Need To Know In Under 4 Minutes

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story