Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare Release Time For Ground War On PS4, PC, And Xbox One

Modern Warfare is out now, but where is Ground War?

10 Comments

Update: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare is out now in all regions it's available in, ready to install and play. According to Infinity Ward, you can now play the single-player campaign, the PS4-exclusive Special Ops mode, and Modern Warfare multiplayer. However, the new multiplayer mode Ground War won't be available until "Friday night," though Infinity Ward has not specified a time.

GameSpot's in-progress review of Modern Warfare praise its "strong campaign missions and smart multiplayer additions." If you're gearing up to start playing, check out our Modern Warfare series timeline explainer and our handy beginner's guide of tips and tricks for getting started. Hit up our Ground War guide for a refresher on what the new multiplayer mode has to offer before it launches.

Original story follows...

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare launches this week on PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC and it's expected to be the biggest game of 2019. Lots of people are geared up and excited to play Infinity Ward's soft-reboot of the classic from 2007. But when does Modern Warfare unlock on each platform? We have the full launch schedule for you below.

When You Can Play Modern Warfare On PC

  • 6 PM PT / 9 PM ET on Thursday, October 24 (North America)
  • 10 PM BRT on Thursday, October 24 (São Paulo)
  • 2 AM BST on Friday, October 25 (London)
  • 3 AM CEST on Friday, October 25 (Stockholm and Berlin)
  • 4 AM MSK on Friday, October 25 (Moscow)
  • 12 PM AEDT on Friday, October 25 (Sydney)

Based on the schedule posted by Activision that outlines the key particulars, Modern Warfare will be available on PC around the world at 6 PM PT on Thursday, October 24. That works out to 9PM ET day. Players in London can start playing on PC at 2 AM BST on October 25, which works out to 3 AM CEST in Stockholm, 4 AM in Moscow, and 12 PM in Sydney.

Check out the map below to find out when Modern Warfare launches for you, but bear in mind again that this map is for PC only.

No Caption Provided

When You Can Play Modern Warfare On PS4 And Xbox One

  • 6 PM PT / 7 PM MT / 8 PM CT / 9 PM ET on Thursday, October 24 (North America)
  • 12 AM Local Time on Friday, October 25 (All regions minus North America)

For digital copies on PS4 and Xbox One, Activision says you should "consult your console dashboard for accurate launch times in your region." On Xbox One, the Modern Warfare store page states that the game will release at 12 AM on October 25 in Australia.

CharlieIntel reports that Modern Warfare will release for PS4 and Xbox One at midnight local time on October 25 in all regions around the world except for North America. In North America, the game will reportedly go live at 6 PM Pacific, 7 PM Mountain, 8 PM Central, and 9 PM Eastern on Thursday, October 24.

When You Can Pre-Load Modern Warfare

Pre-loading for Modern Warfare is available now on PC, PS4, and Xbox One.

Ahead of Modern Warfare's launch, Activision recently shared details on the game's post-release content. As the publisher previously confirmed, Modern Warfare will not have loot boxes; instead, the game will use seasonal battle passes much like Fortnite.

The pass will offer a free content stream and a premium one; the former will let you unlock anything that has an impact on gameplay, like weapons, while the latter will feature vanity items like unique cosmetics.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare – Official Story Trailer

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 10 comments about this story