Call Of Duty: Modern Warfare News Set For Gamescom [Update]

Geoff Keighley will formally start Gamescom with loads of reveals.

Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: How Modern Warfare Multiplayer Rebuilds The Franchise Formula

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Gamescom is beginning soon, with a wide array of events and press conferences taking place Monday before the show floor opens on Tuesday. This year the show has its own formal opening ceremony, with Geoff Keighley hosting Gamescom Opening Night Live. Some games have already been announced as part of the show, including Call of Duty: Modern Warfare. [Update: As promised, the Opening Night Live stream delivered an announcement for CoD fans, and it'll come to fruition quite soon. Players on PS4 will get access to a Modern Warfare alpha beginning later this week. Not only that, but this will be open to everyone on the platform, PS Plus subscriber or not.]

Activision teased "exciting news" for Gamescom. Keighley was very slightly more specific on Twitter, saying the game will show new footage and a special announcement. Gamescom Opening Night Live will begin on Monday, August 19 at 11 AM PT / 2 PM ET / 6 PM GMT (4 AM AEST on August 20).

We already know lots of other games planned for Opening Night Live. Keighley has teased appearances from Destiny 2 Shadowkeep, Disintegration, Need for Speed Heat, the Gears 5 campaign, Predator, and Death Stranding. And this is just one event. Google, Microsoft, and Nintendo are all planning their own press conferences with reveals.

Check our full Gamescom press conference schedule for all the start times, and be sure to watch the Gamescom Opening Night Live right here.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story