Call Of Duty: Black Ops Cold War Free Zombies Firebase Z Update Launch Timing, File Size Revealed

The new patch for Black Ops Cold War is reportedly 9 GB and is scheduled to release at 11 PM PT on February 3.

Comments

Update: The latest Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War update is available now. You can read the full patch notes here.

Original story follows ...

The next big update for Call of Duty: Black Ops Cold War is coming very soon, and now developer Treyarch has shared some specifics about when it's coming, the file size, and more.

The new update will go live across all platforms beginning at 11 PM PT on February 3, which works out to 2 AM ET and 7 AM GMT on February 4. The biggest and most notable new feature with the update is the Firebase Z map for the Zombies mode, which is free for everyone.

The update also adds the Express multiplayer map, as well as new modes and playlists. Four additional Prop Hunt maps are coming as well, "and much more," Treyarch teased.

The studio also clarified that the Easter egg quest in the Firebase Z map will be disabled at launch, and won't go live until 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET / 5 PM GMT on February 5. Treyarch said it's doing this to "make sure everyone can start the hunt on equal footing."

That's an accommodating thing to do for players in many major regions of the world, but Australians and other people in the Asia region might not like it, as that timing works out to the dead of night on Saturday, February 6.

According to CharlieIntel, PS4 users have reported being able to pre-load the new patch. The file size is said to be around 9 GB.

Firebase Z introduces multiple new characters, including some enemies, along with "new gameplay mechanics" to be announced later. A new mega-powerful Wonder Weapon will be included in the new map, too.

Black Ops Cold War was the best-selling game of 2020 in the US. In addition to the Zombies mode, its standard multiplayer mode continues to see new additions and improvements, while Black Ops Cold War weapons have crossed over into the battle royale game Warzone.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Call Of Duty: Black Ops Cold War - Official Firebase Z Trailer | Season 1

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story